Posted on

Black History Month Superhero Spotlight – Kwame

*Looks to the left* *Looks to the right* Oh look…I still have a blog. Weird.

Anyway, it’s Black History Month! You know, those 28 days that we are supposed to honor and celebrate the past, present, and future of the African American culture…. O_o please tell me this time of the year is ringing a bell for you…

Welp, since I’m me, I decided that instead of doing the normal thing and honor actual people, I would shine some light on prominent Black superhero characters that I grew up on.  Completely nerdy, yet you know you want to read more.

First up on the list is Captain Planet’s own wielder of the Earth power ring, Kwame.

"Gold all in my chain, gold all in my ring, gold all in my watch, don't believe me just watch"

“Gold all in my chain, gold all in my ring, gold all in my watch, don’t believe me just watch”

So I’m starting out with Kwame for two reason: 1) He’s probably one of the first African  superhero characters (he’s from Ghana, Africa if you didn’t know) you were aware of and 2) He’s is the first Black character I ever remember to be the leader of a team.

For 6 seasons, Kwame led the Planeteers through all types of eco-threatening hi-jinx  in the 1990’s (3 of which he was receiving marching orders from Whoopi Goldberg . Google it), summoning the power of Earth, which is a WAY better power than Heart. Ma-Ti sucks, to kick butt and take names. And when things got tough, he’d give the order to bring out the big guns by saying those four famous words, “Ma-Ti, you are useless” “Let our powers combine” calling forth the one and only Captain Planet.

“I’M MAKING TREES!!”

Kwame was a huge asset to the team; being the voice of reason and maintaining the team’s focus. He always kept his cool under pressure except for that one time when he questioned his usefulness and subsequently abandoned the Planeteers all while while saving the planet one day at a time. Hats off to the guy.

Oh! and lets not forget this guy provided Kwame’s voice

That's right, freaking Geordi LaForge...or as he's formally known by, That Guy From Reading Rainbow

That’s right, freaking Geordi LaForge…or as he’s formally known by, That Guy From Reading Rainbow

Always remember. The power is yours!

Leave a Reply

